Wherein I Am Not A Laid Off Librarian After All

4 May

So, I got a call from my HR department yesterday informing me that due to procedural errors my layoff notice has been rescinded. I should be glad about that, and I am, but my feelings are mixed.

I’m glad the kids are going to have access to a fully stocked library and the services of a full-time librarian. I’m glad that I’m returning to a job I love where I can connect with kids. I’m glad we don’t have to worry about insurance for me since I am uninsurable. I’m glad I have the whole summer off with a dependable stream of income.

I’m disappointed that I won’t be able to be a SAHM (yet) for Isobel. I’m disappointed that I won’t have as much time to cook and craft and thrift like I’d like. And I’m disappointed that my job was saved by a clerical error and not by a District that saw the precious value of providing a librarian for its children.

What does this mean for the blog? I am committed to posting and have a whole summer to look forward to. I have a lot of projects in the works and a lot of ideas inspiring me. Stay tuned.

10 Responses to “Wherein I Am Not A Laid Off Librarian After All”

  1. cryscarrington May 4, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    I know exactly how you feel. We had layoffs at work and I was a little bummed that I wasn’t laid off. I pretty much knew I wouldn’t be since I’m the only of my job type, but still. I so badly want to stay home with Scarlett but I know we’d be broke. I could easily sacrifice most things we have but I know my husband, the computer geek, would not be able to survive without his new electronics and various things like that. It’s hard being a mama sometimes. I always said that I wouldn’t have kids unless I could stay home with them but I’m glad I didn’t miss out on the opportunity.

    • LittleBig May 4, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      I know the feeling. We may never make enough to justify me being a SAHM, but I still hold out hope.

  2. MaxKalifornia May 4, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    So happy that you are keeping your job! BUT please do keep the blog updated, I like visiting 🙂

    • LittleBig May 4, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Thanks, Omar!

  3. gigi May 4, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    I hear you! But yay! I’m glad. At least you have time to gather you shit together and think of options while still having money.

    • LittleBig May 4, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

      You are totally right, Gig.

  4. Bonnie May 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    I’m glad you get to keep your job, but I understand how you feel. I’ve been working a LOT for my dad, but it’s so different from having a real job. And I kind of like it. I feel kind of like I’m retired just like he is now. But… getting a real job would get me more money. Which is necessary for some things (such as moving out of your parents house!) I really hope I get that forestry job, because I’ve worked there before and know I’ll like it. While scared that I won’t get anything though, I’ve searched through what’s available and don’t know if I could handle most of them.

    My highschool counsellor told me I should be a library technician. And I did work at a library one summer. And liked it. But I took ecology in school and would like to do something with that. i’m hoping to have a friday morning off sometime to go to the knitting thing at my local library. But even without a real job, I am always so busy! Fitting a real job in will be a big adjustment.

    But.. money is necessary for things. At least you have summers off!

    • LittleBig May 8, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      Bonnie, you are such a librarian at heart! I hope you get that forestry job, too. Of course I’m selfishly thinking of all the photos you could take while working. 😛 Your maple (farm? orchard? er, nursery?) sounds like a wonderful place to work but I know all about how important getting away from your parents can be.

  5. Bonnie May 8, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    We didn’t plant the trees, we’re technically farmers, but it’s a sweet kind of farming!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Plucky, Indispensible Librarian with Floaty Hair « Little Big - September 2, 2010

    […] I have a job for the rest of this school year, but after that? I could get laid off at any time. Same as before. So there’s […]

Leave a comment