Terrarium Inspiration

4 Nov

Yesterday I posted a tutorial on how to create terrariums, but something weird happened and it posted in the past. By the time I noticed and fixed the back-dating issue it was nearly today. I know that sentence barely makes any sense, but that’s what I get for fucking with the space-time continuum. If you haven’t read the tutorial, it’s very very easy. If you have read it and can’t wait to get started, here’s some container, plant, and figurine inspiration. If you found my blog by searching for “how to build wet terrariums”, seek help immediately. Possibly in the form of a dictionary.

If you’re lucky enough to find a vintage terrarium container while thrifting, scoop it up and never look back. They aren’t that easy to find. I’ve been lucky enough to find three: an acrylic egg-shaped one, a glass mushroom, and a glass apple. I’m keeping my eye out for more and you can bet that if I find one it’s going up immediately in my store.

Before I ever found those, however, I made countless terrariums out of inexpensive thrifted glass containers. That’s the beauty of terrariums—they are adaptable and can be made from all sorts of things.

My first terrariums were created in thrifted fish bowls and storage jars from Ikea. The more I kept my eye out for interesting jars and things while thrifting the more I became inspired. I found all sorts of lovely glass bowls. I especially loved making them in tiny containers. Especially if they said something weird like, “Bishop’s Awards Dinner.”

I once bought a glass jar from either Crate and Barrel or CB2. I may have registered for it, actually. I don’t remember but I’ve had it for awhile. It was just sitting somewhere taking up space when I thought I know! I’ll make it into a terrarium! I get the most compliments from this terrarium.

One of my favorite terrarium bowls was a vintage thrifted find that was hand-blown with little bubbles embedded in the glass. Gorgeous.

I like to liven up the simpler terrariums by adding extras: toys. Historically some terrariums featured little figurines, especially mushrooms, as a decorative touch. The egg terrarium I bought came with a vintage mushroom and swan. I’ve seen some terrariums add dinosaurs for a whimsical prehistoric touch and it made me want to add more toys to mine.

Anthony and I collected the totally strange and inexplicably rave-themed Buddha Buddies from a vending machine in an old grocery store. Why they were ever created is a mystery but I love adding them to my terrariums. I purchased plastic sea creatures from the craft store and made one that resembled octopus in a bed of kelp. The terrarium I keep at work has a roaring hippo.

My sister bought me this good-luck cat and it was very happy in the terrarium I kept by the sink.

I used to keep all my terrariums on the counter near the fruits and vegetables. They looked really lovely and unfortunately I never took any pictures of them, so enjoy my cat amongst produce and a dismembered pomegranate along with your terrariums.

When I want to create a new terrarium I troll the Terrarium group that I moderate on Flickr for inspiration and it never lets me down. Really, any glass container has terrarium potential.

14 Responses to “Terrarium Inspiration”

  1. dennisfinocchiaro November 4, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    This is a GREAT way to make a house a little more homey. Great post 🙂
    http://www.denwrites.com

  2. Elly Lou November 4, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    You’re so crafty it makes my teeth hurt! And the ‘shroom terrarium might be the niftiest thing I’ve seen ever. And that really is a compliment even though I spent a lot of time seeking out only the most horrifying of crafts.

    • LittleBig November 4, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      Horrifying crafts are a joy unto themselves. Really, this is so easy it should barely qualify as a craft. If you have rocks, dirt, a plant from the backyard and fifty cents to buy yourself a glass at a thrift store, you have yourself the makins of a terrarium.

  3. sarcasmically November 5, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Goddamnit, I am jealous of your craftiness. I’m going to do this with the kiddos soon, in place of getting them a fish (they keep asking; I don’t look forward to flushing and replacing many fish). Super awesome post.

  4. dennisfinocchiaro November 6, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Your post inspired me…I even thrifted an old elephant jar that I’m going to make into a terrarium. Thanks! Maybe I’ll send you a pic once it’s done if you’re interested and give me your email 🙂

  5. Terrarium Containers February 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    What’s so cool about Terrarium Containers is that they are easy to take care of since you don’t need to water them that often. Also as a beginner you can often get them pre-planted and built.

  6. فروش تراريوم در تهران August 18, 2019 at 5:33 pm #

    its very good

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MONKEY GIVEAWAY « Little Big - November 9, 2010

    […] this happened around the time I was writing my terrarium tutorial and inspiration posts. While writing I figured out a humane and legal way of solving the problem of a MONKEY […]

  2. Hey Hey, You Won Monkeys « Little Big - November 13, 2010

    […] GIVEAWAY and am giving them away in the hopes that the winners will use them to build a terrarium, decorate it, or use said monkeys in the pimping of their workspace. I have selected three winners using […]

  3. The Get Well Terrarium « Little Big - May 23, 2011

    […] are lovely but are sometimes hard to get going. (I wrote a terrarium tutorial and a post about terrarium inspiration that may help, and I’ve answered a few terrarium questions via email. If there’s […]

  4. Make a Kid-Friendly Terrarium | Make and Takes - August 23, 2011

    […] can build a terrarium in just about any container. I posted about the many containers for terrariums I’ve used and you can find an enormous array of items people have used for containers on […]

Leave a comment