Sweet Peachie Boy

9 Jun

As those of you who follow me on Twitter already know, my sweet, lovable cat Peaches is ill. He has a massive tumor on his spleen. He is dying.

Let me back up a bit. There has been some major changes for Peaches in our household. First of all, Tinkerbell, his lifelong companion, passed away recently. Shortly after that, we traumatized poor Peachie by taking him to a shot clinic for his vaccine updates. And most life-changingly of all for Peach, we adopted two new kittens into our home.

Any of those changes could be enough to stress a cat. Oftentimes cats react to stress by eating less. I didn’t really notice a change in Peaches’ eating habits, but I did notice him getting skinnier. Slowly at first, he thinned out. Since I still saw him eating I attributed it to stress. But in the back of my mind, a seed of fear sprouted. With each vertebrae that became more pronounced on Peaches’ back, it grew.

Finally, I decided it warranted a trip to the vet. We don’t make those trips lightly as they are so expensive. But I convinced myself Peaches had picked up a worm somehow from one of the kittens. That would explain why he would get skinnier even as I saw him eat.

I made the appointment for Monday afternoon. The fear ate away at me all weekend.

The doctor confirmed what my intuition had been screaming at me for days: Peaches is sick and he’s not getting better. He has a couple months at most before he deteriorates.

I feel very, very lucky that we have a few weeks’ reprieve before we have to take him in. I feel even luckier that he is not in pain.

I love all my cats but Tinky and Peaches were special. They were my cats when I was a kid. I grew up with them. They slept on my bed as a child when I lived at my parents’ house. When I got married and moved into a one-bedroom apartment, they came with me and stayed with us when we purchased our house.

There is something special about loving a childhood pet. Children love fiercely, intensely, and they love without inhibition. They love their pets in a way that we can’t, as adults, duplicate. We love deeply also, of course, but it’s different.

To lose a childhood pet is to lose part of your childhood.

I’m going to miss you, Peaches.

20 Responses to “Sweet Peachie Boy”

  1. jenn June 9, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    Peaches and Tinkerbell are (to date) the only cats in history that I could not only tollerate, but love.

  2. Nichole June 9, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I’m sorry. 😦 He’s a handsome cat.

  3. aproperfool June 9, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    I am so sorry to hear about your pet. I know they become a part of the family. You at least have some cute photos to keep–I especially like the bowl (or teacup? I can’t tell) picture.
    My condolences. 😦

  4. Jessi B. June 9, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    I am so sorry to hear about Peaches. I’m glad you get a few more weeks to show him how much you love him. I am a dog girl myself, and I truly know how a childhood pet can become a defining part of your life growing up. I had my sweet Norman (a mut from the pound) from the ages of 5 to 18 and I wouldn’t have been the same girl without him 🙂

    • Jessi B. June 9, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      My condolences, You all have made a wonderful home and life for him.

  5. asiajane June 9, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Very sorry to hear about your lovely cat. You’ve written a wonderful tribute to him.

  6. Adrienne June 9, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    This made me tear up. I’m so very sorry. My beloved childhood cat, Tina, passed away a few years back when she was 16. It’s a horrible thing to have to deal with, and my heart still aches when I think of her being gone forever. You just have to remind yourself that Peaches is family. He is and always will be, and he had (still has) a beautiful life with you, your husband, baby and other furbabies. Shower him with love, make him as comfortable as possible, spoil him, and cherish all the time you have left with him. He’ll remember it just as much as you will.

    Again, I’m so sorry, and my thoughts are with you guys. ❤

  7. gigi June 9, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    He is so adorable… I’m so sad for all of you. I can only imagine what you are going through. May he live these last weeks as happy and loved as he did all his life. 😥

  8. LittleBig June 10, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Thank you all. I really means a lot that Peaches will be missed by many.

  9. Julie June 10, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I’m so sorry C.A.

    • LittleBig June 10, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      Thank you.

  10. MegaGood June 12, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I just found your blog and I am in love. Just what I need, another subscription in my reader. *sigh*

    But seriously, Cats, babies, photos, crafts, food. I am in heaven. Thanks for existing.

    • LittleBig June 13, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

      Thank you so much! What a nice thing to say.

  11. MegaGood June 12, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    However, this post makes me very sad.

    • LittleBig June 13, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

      It’s awful, but we’re counting our blessings. He’s not suffering yet so we get to spoil him for a few weeks before we have to say goodbye.

  12. angelina March 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    I have been gone from flickr for so long and lost track of your blog so that I didn’t know you lost Peaches!! I’m so so sad to hear it. I have enjoyed his love of bowls and other tricks so much over the last few years. I know it’s way too late but I’ll send a warm salute to him wherever he is.

  13. angelina March 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Also to Tinkerbell! What a sad year for you with regards to your cat family. I’m glad that you have new cats to keep things from getting too quiet at your house.

    • LittleBig March 31, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      They were really old, so it was expected, but I still miss them unbarably.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Farewell Sweet Peach – Just another WordPress site - June 21, 2010

    […] last weekend Peaches took a turn for the worse. After we received his diagnosis we set up a space for him in our bedroom with water, fancy soft cat food, and a small litterbox. He […]

Leave a comment